Weapons of Mass Disruption

Just as earthly landscapes change with time, so does the media landscape. I recently read a blog post by Carlo De Marchis discussing “disruptions” to the media landscape.

You can read the post here.

It’s 10 p.m. on a Tuesday night and I’m surrounded by three digital signs on the walls, two small device screens sitting on the table, and one laptop screen in front of me. Marchis would say that all of these media outlets are a “disruption.”

“There are 3 disruptions that are crucial for the future of media: the disruption of media consumption, the disruption of media communication, and the disruption of media production.”

-Carlo De Marchis

2913493592_52560201ff_zUsing the word “disruption” to describe the changing landscape of media doesn’t sit well in my stomach. I would consider this an opportunity. I’ve always been more of a glass-half-full kind of girl, and this creates no exception. With changes in the way we consume, communicate, and produce media comes infinite opportunity to think creatively and entrepreneurially.

Now don’t get me wrong, Marchis doesn’t spend his entire post down in the dumps about the media landscape, he calls us to action. He calls us to “look for the next transient competitive advantage.” He calls us to think about the idea of entrepreneurial journalism. I encourage you to read this book by Mark Briggs to gain more insight into the topic.

Personally, I think journalism is already entrepreneurial. It has been that way for decades. The current landscape wouldn’t be as colorful as it is without ground-breaking ideas. Journalists in today’s society have to wear many hats in order to stay relevant. They have to communicate their story in such a way that it holds our attention. But, what works today might not 6 months from now. I mean just think about how journalism has changed just in the last 5 years!

The entire idea of a constantly changing landscape excites me. As one of those annoying people who can’t stay focused on the same thing or sit still in a chair for extended periods of time, a field of expertise that requires constant creative thinking and different challenges everyday excites me.

But will my journalism degree be worth anything 10 years from now? Will my innovative thoughts be worth any money? The future of the media landscape is so unknown and that scares me, but that’s what makes is so beautiful when it comes to fruition.

 

Leave a Reply

